Executive Committee

The Executive Committee currently has ten members, representing a wide range of professional skills.

The Chairman is appointed for a two year period, after which they remain as Vice Chairman for one year. The Treasurer is a permanent role on the Committee.


Michael Bennett CPFA
Michael Bennett is currently Treasurer, having been welcomed to the Executive Committee in 2013. Michael qualified as an Accountant in 1974 and he has worked in senior financial and Company Secretarial positions with UK, US, European and Middle Eastern based businesses in the Service, Distribution and Health Care sectors, for over thirty-five years.

Martin Chambers
Martin is a solicitor who trained and spent the early part of his career in major City law firms before moving into the corporate sector. For over 30 years Martin then worked as an in-house lawyer for a wide range of multi-national groups in the engineering, retail, food and brewing industries. These included Guinness, Harrods and Kingfisher, the owner of B&Q and Screwfix, where he was Legal Director for 10 years, prior to retiring in 2010.

Peter Cotton MA
Peter Cotton is currently Deputy Chair of a large housing association and Chair of Guinness Care and Support which provides residential and domiciliary care and Extra Care schemes nationally. Until recently, he was a non-executive director of Eurostar. Prior to that he worked in the rail industry (at separate times as MD of Gatwick Express and MD of Scotrail) and in various roles in the private sector.
He is a school governor and a bereavement counsellor.

Andrew K Hill BSc(Eng) DMS CEng MIET MCMI
Andrew has worked in the public, private and voluntary sectors in senior management positions involving electrical engineering, customer service, health & safety, compliance, risk management and quality.
For over fifteen years Andrew, who is a qualified Lead Assessor, has carried out quality assessments for ISO 9001 and for the hospitality industry, including numerous private hospitals and nursing/residential homes for the elderly.

Amanda Houlihan FICPD
Amanda is an HR professional with over thirty years experience in a wide range of organisations, culminating in ten years as HR director of Hammerson plc. After five years as Chairman, Amanda is now the Vice-Chairman of LPNH. In July 2014 she was appointed as a Trustee/Director of The Abbeyfield Society (TAS). She is also a Trustee on the Board of RSAS – a not-for-profit organisation currently going through a period of major change which will result in a charity offering services to the carers of people with Dementia.

Professor Ed Peile MB BS EdD, FRCP, FRCGP, FRCPCH, FHEA, FAcadMEd (Chairman)
Professor Peile is Professor Emeritus of Medical Education and former Associate Dean (Teaching) and Head of Institute of Clinical Education at Warwick Medical School. Ed has lived in the locality for over 35 years since he started work at the Princess Mary’s RAF Hospital, Halton. In 1983 he started the Aston Clinton Surgery which is now part of the Westongrove practice covering Wendover, Aston Clinton and Bedgrove, Aylesbury.
A Fellow of three Royal Medical Colleges, (Physicians; Paediatrics; and General Practitioners), Ed is also a Fellow of the UK Higher Education Academy. In 2010 Professor Peile received the President’s Medal of the Academy of Medical Educators for his lifetime achievement in medical education.

Air Commodore David John Rainford MBE OStJ MBBS MRCS FRCP FFOM(Hon)FRAeS
For the majority of his career, David was a Consultant Physician in The Royal Air Force, specializing in kidney disease. Whilst maintaining clinical skills, his subsequent career was predominantly in higher management where he undertook a number of senior roles within the Armed Forces. He was Defence Medical Postgraduate Dean from 1999-2002, in charge of medical training for all three armed services. His final post before retiring was as Chief Executive Defence Secondary Care Agency, responsible for peacetime employment of trained secondary care personnel and provision of trained personnel to the Commanders in Chief for operational deployment.
Since retiring from the RAF, David has held civilian posts as Consultant to the Royal Air Force and the Civil Aviation Authority and was Senior Consultant Advisor to the Royal Air Force of Oman. He continues to chair the RAF Experimental Medicine Research Assessment Committee. In the charity sector, in addition to his work at LPNH, he has been a member of Council and a Trustee of the Royal Air Force Benevolent Fund. David has previously served as Chairman of the Executive Committee of LPNH.

Marilyn Plummer RGN
Marilyn has lived locally for 33 years and began a long career in nursing in 1967 at the Hammersmith Hospital in London. Much of the past 25 years has been spent working in General Practice, both nursing and teaching.
Marilyn is still involved in training GP’s and nurses in her specialist subjects, Asthma and COPD and has taught both diseases, nationally and internationally.

Stuart Smith FRICS
Stuart is a Chartered Surveyor with wide experience in the private and corporate sectors having started his professional career in a London practice prior to moving to The General Electric Company for ten years. He was then Property Director of Cadbury Schweppes for twenty years and now is self employed as a Corporate Property Consultant.

Kirpal Tahim PhD MBA CEng MIET FCCA
Dr. Kirpal Singh Tahim has worked for over thirty-seven years in the telecommunications industry. His experience covers engineering research, strategic analysis, business planning, product development, financial management and commercial control.
He is currently an Independent Governor at the University of West London. Kirpal is a Chartered Engineer (CEng MIET) and a Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (FCCA). He is married to a teacher and lives in West London.
Kirpal has assisted the Executive Committee by taking on the role of Acting Treasurer in 2012/2013.